About

Love Barnett is a work-from-home mom of too many kids to count, trophy wife, and emphatic wielder of the “Because I said so” card. Be prepared for an unbridled perspective into the world of beer, babies, beauty, and baubles here!

That’s a pretty standard bio that I use for most of my writing, but I know that many people come to the “about” section for a few more details than that, so allow me to elaborate:

My name is MyLove, but as that is so incredibly awkward, most people just call me Love. To say that my parents enjoyed the 70s would be an understatement. I am 38 years old, happily married, and mother/bonus mom of five. They are 18, 17, 16, 15, and 7. In my youth, I would never have envisioned having such a large family for myself, but now I can’t imagine life any other way. Some of them live here, and some of them just visit now days. We don’t use words like steps and halves here, unless we’re trying to explain or be clear to people who may need the distinction. They’re all just our kids, and brothers and sisters, to us and to each other. We live just outside of Tupelo, Mississippi, and enjoy the local music scene quite a bit, as much as we can get out to take it in. My husband is in a band, and I do videography for local events.

A few things to mention here, having said that: I may be a Southern woman, but if you prejudge that, you do so at your own peril. I am neither slow nor soft nor conservative. Genteel is a pretty word, but it’s not applicable here either. I swear like a trucker, and I won’t apologize for it. My husband is an Army veteran, and many of my earlier blog posts were written while he was away on deployment. He left when Spawn was three weeks old, and we got him back full time around Spawn’s third birthday. To say that there was an adjustment period needed there would be an understatement, too.

I wear so many hats as a work at home momma that there’s hardly room to mention it all. Aside from my normal gig, I also dabble a little bit in graphic design now and then for local bands and venues, as well as managing several websites and social media channels for a few different businesses, and running my own fledging media company. I have a BS in Accounting, and am currently working on my MBA. I worked for over a decade as a staff accountant at a large CPA firm, and then moved into the non-profit sector as a mentor and career counselor for at-risk youth, before getting pregnant with Spawn and beginning my work at home career.

Spawn’s name is NOT Spawn, but that is what he is called far and wide, by everyone who knows him, both in real life and online. He earns it, believe me.

Welcome to our life and the inner workings of a chaotic insomniac brain! Grab a glass of your favorite liquid refreshment and hold on.

Advertisements